21 Christian Affirmations for Self-Esteem

Steve Pederson
2 min readJul 30, 2019

--

Photo by Porapak Apichodilok from Pexels

Everyone needs a little help with their self-esteem from time to time. Often times we don’t even know it!

You would think that Christians would have all the self-esteem they need. Unfortunately, our self-esteem can take a beating on a regular basis, and we can benefit from these powerful reminders from the scriptures of who we are and what we’re capable of in Christ.

These 21 Christian affirmations for self-esteem come with a handy scripture reference in most cases, to help you see the affirmation in its original biblical context.

I’ve also provided a link to a YouTube recording below, if you would like to listen to a guided walk through of the affirmations.

Before you begin reciting these affirmations, you may find it helpful to take a deep cleansing breath. As you recite them, declare them powerfully with conviction.

Enjoy!

  1. I am created in the image of God, the image of perfection
    (Genesis 1:27)
  2. I am created to rule over God’s creation
    (Genesis 1:26)
  3. I am crowned with glory and honor
    (Psalm 8:5)
  4. I have a lot to offer
    (1 Peter 4:10)
  5. I can overcome any obstacle with God
    (Psalm 18:29)
  6. It’s okay to feel weak. When I’m weak, then I’m strong
    (2 Corinthians 12:10)
  7. I am strong in the Lord and in his incredible power
    (Ephesians 6:10)
  8. I can do all things through him who gives me strength
    (Philippians 4:13)
  9. I have a spirit of power, love and self-discipline
    (2 Timothy 1:7)
  10. The Spirit at work within me is greater than the spirit in the world
    (1 John 4:4)
  11. I am deeply loved for who I am and not what I do
    (Romans 5:8)
  12. I am incredibly valuable because Jesus gave his life for me
    (Galatians 1:4)
  13. I am more valuable than a whole flock of sparrows
    (Matthew 10:31)
  14. Jesus declares me righteous and redeemed
    (2 Corinthians 5:21, Colossians 1:13–14)
  15. Jesus is not ashamed of me
    (Hebrews 2:11)
  16. I am so special to God, he even knows how many hairs I have
    (Matthew 10:30)
  17. I am highly favored
    (Psalm 5:12)
  18. I am a royal priest
    (1 Peter 2:9)
  19. I am a member of God’s royal family
    (Ephesians 2:19)
  20. I love and respect myself for who I am right now
    (Mark 12:31)
  21. I am the only me there is
    (Jeremiah 1:5)

Visit the Daily Christian Affirmations YouTube channel for more powerful christian affirmations!

--

--